In the late 1920’s, the Fallon Brothers (Tom and Francis) had a meat wagon delivering to West Stockbridge, Richmond, Neighboring New York State and more.
1930 – The property at 8 Main Street (photo to the right) was purchased by the Fallon Brothers beginning a fantastic succession of grocers in that location. The Market, known as Fallon’s, become the destination for quality meats, produce and groceries through the 30’s, 40’s and 50’s.
1963 – After more than 32 years, Francis Fallon sold the building and business to his butcher George Gerdin and son Gerard (Jake) Gerdin.
1977 – A couple from California, Toni and Cy bought the Market and ran it for one year.
1978 – Michael and Ann Skorput purchased the building and business from Toni and Cy. The Market still had groceries and fantastic freshly cut meats. But, in serving the transforming public needs. They blew the roof off the sandwich, lunch and coffee business.
2001 – Another party ran the store for almost two years.
2003 – Bernie Fallon took over the store remodeling and cleaning up the inside of the building. Increased traffic flow returned the the Public Market.
2010 – The business was purchased by Randy Burkhart and his wife, Erika. Randy and Erika made many improvements to the store including cozy tables and chairs in the front of the building.
2012 – Tim Walsh purchased the business and has been successful ever since.
The Market’s coffee business starts the day with a bang. Mid-morning traffic consumes pastries and early lunches. Tim has the best quality, most unique and diverse lunch menu in the Market’s history.
Read more bout Tim here.